Welcome to Texas Spec7

Home of the Texas SRX7 Road Race Series

Friday, November 17, 2017
Register  |  Login
Forum
  Forum  
SearchForum Home
  Aggregated  SPEC 7 FORUM  Event Write ups- Give us your excuse for not winning  ECR...
 ECR

10/15/2008 12:35:32 PM
Travis
290 posts
1st

ECR
 (United States)

ok. I guess everyone has race hangover.. my review.

arrived Friday, didn't plan on doing track day, but decided why not.. Ran 5 laps and blew tranny.. So I was applauding my great decision to run on Friday so this didnt happen Saturday.. Spent ALL day changing tranny as I have never done before.. Thanks to Lance for having a spare, and stabbing the new one..

Saturday race finished both races 3rd behind Tony and Donato..  but I was developing a stopping problem.  Discovered I am loosing the master cylinder.  So Sunday, I did the pump the brakes dance at each corner and managed to qualify on the pole.. Except during the race I forgot the brake pump dance going into a corner inside of Donato and couldn't slow down enough to make corner and hit Donato.  I broke his axle and think I busted a tranny mount and real axle bearing is going bad.. plus of course the master cylinder..  Not a moment I was very proud of.

My impression of the track at first was I didn't like it.. No fast sweeping corners and the track exposes how slow our cars really are.  Also you can only manage to go into 4th gear twice for a very short time. The two double apex turns seemed identical and boring.. But after each race the track grew on me.. The elevation changes are very cool and so are the completely blind turns where you go up over the turn blind, then come down into a right hander. You can look down to your left and see the cars below probably another 50 ft.